A Return to ‘Once Upon a Time…’

One of the things I’ve been incredibly excited about for the new year is the release of Disney’s “The Princess and the Frog.”

The movie, set to release in December 2009, marks not only the return to traditional animation but the fairy tales stories I grew up loving and hopefully, (fingers crossed!) musicals. “Enchanted” has been the closest thing in what seems like forever, excusing the sequels, prequels and trilogy completions that have been released like “Ariel’s Beginning” and “Cinderella 3: A Twist in Time,” both of which I enjoyed. Still, nothing can compare to the lush animation, musical brilliance and wonderful characters that turn a well-loved fairy tale into a Walt Disney classic.

From the teaser and what I’ve read, Princess Tiana already seems a sweet, intriguing young woman and the animation has already captured my attention and imagination. The frustrating thing is that the media seems hell-bent on turning this sweet story into a racial controversy to further invest in the idea that the Walt Disney Company is a racist multi-million company covering their tails with this new character. Why they can’t see it for what it truly is, a new twist on a classic fairy tale, as many of the fairy tales can arguably be called, is beyond me. If they took any time to see how many different renditions of “Beauty and the Beast” or “Rapunzel” there are, they’d see this is just another case in point – people love fairy tales.

Fairy tales have always captured the attention of audiences young and old and as someone who has studied this area in depth, I can say with all assurance, this will not be the last time someone alters a classic fairy tale. Princess Tiana is the first African American princess and it’s about time – but that shouldn’t be the focal point of the story, merely something to note and appreciate.

Jay Rasulo, the chairman of Walt Disney World Park & Resorts, spoke at the National Urban League in Orlando this summer on diversity and referred to “The Princess and the Frog.” His speech was quite long (it can be found here) but he makes some very powerful and important points.

Rasulo said, “It’s hard for me to imagine that our Guests could truly feel like they were in a place where they were living their dreams if they did not see themselves mirrored in out characters and stories. It would not be enough to recast Snow White or Sleeping Beauty with a black or brown face. The authentic approach would be for those faces to have their own stories, rooted in their own unique cultures and experiences…if an African American girl sees a black Snow White, no matter how beautiful and lovely, she probably knows in her heart it’s an afterthought. And it would be. It’s not the story that she saw in her book or in that movie. That’s not good enough.”

Rasulo is correct, it’s not good enough. Every little girl, tomboy or tea party hostess, wants to be a princess at some point. We want to be lovely and wanted and cared for and gifted. We want enchantment and a promise that someday, as Giselle so sweetly said, “Maybe something wonderful will happen.”

There is nothing wrong with that.

And while many young girls don’t grow up to be princesses, we do grow up to be doctors, lawyers, mothers – people who make a difference in the world – and women who remember childhood dreams that helped them become who they are today.

When I was a little girl, Snow White was the only dark-haired princess. My hair was short like hers but I longed for fair blonde locks like Princess Aurora or Cinderella. My sister had them and I envied her because, despite Snow White’s kindness and sweet nature, I felt left out. I felt, in such a childish way, that I would never be a princess, never find my prince. Then Disney released “Beauty and the Beast” and I saw Belle. She was beautiful, smart, loved to read and was a brunette to boot! I felt at home right away, as I’ve heard many red-heads did with Ariel and I’m sure Mulan, Jasmine and Pocahontas received similar emotions. I connected for the first real time with a Disney princess and it felt wonderful.

Little girls should have someone who looks as they look and despite the arguments, I believe that has been occurring over the years with the previous heroines I’ve mentioned. Even Esmerelda and Princess Kida from “Atlantis” have been of a darker complexion, but people tend to forget quickly. Even the new fairy brand introduces Iridessa and Silver Mist and once again, they are beautiful, charming characters but they aren’t princesses and princesses are important.

As Rasulo pointed out, little girls need to see someone like them, someone to connect with and admire. Princess Tiana will be and is a major step and a wonderful accomplishment for all those little girls.

Anika Noni Rose, the beautiful voice of Princess Tiana, sang at the National Urban League meeting after Rasulo’s speech. According to the Walt Disney World Public Affairs website, after singing “Rose picked up her two-year-old nephew sitting in the front row and said, “This is especially important to me because I will be his first American Princess.”’

I’m curious if she knows how many other children (and maybe even adults) she will reach.

4 thoughts on “A Return to ‘Once Upon a Time…’

  1. I’m excited too! A bit pissed that people are trying to make it seem racist but glad that disney is going back to hand-drawn musical creations! I hear that the prince is white which i find interesting! I kidna like it! Bugs me that ppl dont think its right to have a “black” girl and a “white” guy fall in love. Maybe the movie will let people see it diffrently :]

    1. That is interesting – I hadn’t heard that about the prince. Of course, I’d like to see a strong African American/Asian/Native American prince. I’m trying to recall an animated one but can’t right now – that’s something I’ll have to look into. Still, an interracial couple for Disney will be very interesting – but as long as the story line works, that’s all that matters to me. I’m so pumped for this movie!

  2. yes, the african prince would have cool too :] if were are going to hav a first “black” princess, might as well have a “black” prince as well but either way for me! i’m jus excited about the movie 😀

Leave a comment